Mini Reviews! Never Enough Time+The Seclusion+Escape//Reading a LOT of new authors

Hi guys!

Today’s post is a Review Post! Finally. I mean this is supposed to be a book blog? I know that nobody really reads reviews unless they want to know more about a particular book so I decided to mini reviews! I’m also going to be writing in a bullet point list because I really like that format! Inspiration credit to Ilsa whose bullet point reviews are absolute goals. Like how?!?! #Perfection

Divider1.png

First up we have:

Never Enough Time

Title: Never Enough Time

Author: R.T.W Lipkin

Release Date: 07 June 2018

Rating: 🍍🍍(2 pineapples)

Divider1.png

  • When I started reading, I really liked the main character (Delaney Archer) because!! she!! likes!! books!! I think she had quite a unique persona.
  • Her character really developed from ‘moody, unbothered teenager’ to someone who was quite wise? almost which was interesting.
  • I think personally, this book was quite confusing because half the time, I didn’t really understand much? I feel like it was slightly rushed in places but also slightly slow at places.
  • The ending didn’t really make any sense to me and I think most of the other characters were quite one-dimensional. For example, Raj’s only characteristic was being Asian and nerdy.
  • The future world was really different and Delaney’s confusion was quite clear because she didn’t understand how it worked. Unfortunately, I didn’t understand it either and that brought down the reading experience quite a bit.
  • I really loved Hal though! His and Delany’s conversations with him were quite witty and funny!
  • The chapters were short and didn’t end on cliff-hangers. The next chapter just carried on like there wasn’t supposed to a break. It felt quite forced.
  • There were Asian references!! And music!! Which I was excited about! The arranged marriage thing was mentioned too much though and her obsession with Raj (seriously there wasn’t a more original name? Not every Indian guy is called Raj.) took over almost the whole book and SHE BARELY KNEW HIM?!?! She only spent 1 evening with him?
  • Overall, I found it quite confusing and it just wasn’t my kind of book. I think the idea was good but could have been improved more. I was completely zoned out by the time I reached the end.

NOTE: I was offered a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own and no-one else’s.

Divider1.png

The Seclusion

Image result for the Seclusion Author: Jacqui Castle

Title: The Seclusion

Author: Jacqui Castle

Release date: 04 September 2018

Rating: 🍍🍍🍍🍍 (4 pineapples)

  • This book was really good! I actually liked it quite a lot!
  • Patricia is 22 which I thought was too old but it’s a good age for having a job and being able to do what you want. She has flaws and real-life struggles like forgetting to go shopping!!
  • She’s also cool in an intense situation but also has emotions and freezes.
  • The fact that Patricia thinks there are only patriots or traitors made it quite unique. You can’t really be just one thing.
  • Other books and their quotes are mentioned which I really liked!
  • SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER
  • SPOILER SPOILER STOP READING RIGHT NOW

  • SPOILER DON’T SAY I DIDN’T WARN YOU

  • ………OK. I’m starting now.
  • NOOOOO DOES THERE HAVE TO BE ROMANCE BETWEEN THE TWO MAIN CHARACTERS??????
  • I mean they lost their best friend and Rexx lost his girlfriend and he should be acting all broken and guilty not like ‘I’ve wanted to do that for a long time?????’
  • ughhhhh. no. I’m literally crying right now
  • Seriously? His girlfriend’s probably dead and he just falls in love with his girlfriend’s (and his) best friend???
  • If Rexx stayed broken, it would have hurt my heart more and made me love him even more but I guess I can get over him and Patricia
  • SPOILER over.
  • The chapters ended on cliffhangers which was good and made me want to keep reading.
  • The ending wasn’t like a MASSIVE cliffhanger which is good but I NEED a second book.
  • There also quite a few information dumps in the story. Maybe it could be done in a more subtle way? Hidden letter, etc? Because the information is mainly just given to her through speech.
  • Overall, I really enjoyed this but I’m not sure if I would recommend it to anyone because it has a similar theme to other stories.

NOTE: I was offered a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own and no-one else’s.

Divider1.png

Escape

Escape (Diamondsong, #01)

Title: Escape

Author: E.D.E Bell

Release date: 19 June 2018

Rating: 🍍(1 pineapple)

  • I honestly. Physically. couldn’t bring myself to read this book.
  • I read to about page 25 but I just couldn’t get into it.
  • Also, the fact that it was going to be part of a 10 book series was kind of intimidating and off-putting.
  • Because if I liked the book then I would want to read all the books.
  • And I just couldn’t do that.
  • I think it might have been better if it was a longer book and shorter series because then it’s less commitment to a particular series.
  • Overall, I’m not fully able to give this book a rating but the fact that I couldn’t actually finish it says something.
  • I rarely don’t finish a book.

NOTE: I was offered a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own and no-one else’s.

Chat With Me

CHAT WITH ME! Am I too harsh? Have you read any of these books? Are you going to try any of them? Did you like my reviews? What are your favourite types of posts? Butter of Chocolate spread?

Thanks for reading this guys! I hoped you like my reviews! Hugs,

Kerys xx

kerys.png

15 thoughts on “Mini Reviews! Never Enough Time+The Seclusion+Escape//Reading a LOT of new authors

    1. HELLLLOOOO!!!!
      I’m so glad you found my blog and like it! And yay! Bookworms forever! Ooh! Mystery and horror? Hmm… I don’t really read those genres but I’ve heard good things about Murder on the Orient Express! Thank you for the lovely comment! xx ❤️😂

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Hey I just came from the Swimmers post and I’m so glad that I did. I absolutely love your style of reviews an especially how honest you were! I really want to try the second one! I’ve just finished reading a book called ‘The Invisble Library’ and I know exactly what you mean about wanting the next book in the series!! Keep it up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you found me and like my blog! Thank you! That means a lot! I really liked one! I hope you enjoy reading it! Tell me how you like it! Ooh! I just looked it up and it sounds so interesting! I really want to read it now! Glad you could relate! Thanks for the lovely comment! xx ❤️😀

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.